

# Village of Hall and District Progress Association Inc.

VHDPA Inc. PO Box 43 Hall ACT 2618 www.hall.act.au

**President:** Robert Yallop.

2022/2023

#### **VHDPA Committee AGM – Minutes**

Meeting date 18 October 2023 Location Hall Pavilion

Robert Yallop, Jan Klaver, Phil Robson, Office holders and Peter Toet, Tony Morris, Aaron Whittaker, committee

Lee-Ann Brodrick, Ralph Southwell

Members

Doug Anstess, Marion Banyard, Ian Brodrick, Alastair Crombie, John Connelly, Jo Hall, Kate Heffernan,

Kenneth Heffernan, Anne Lomax, Margaret Morris,

Judy Roberts, Kevin Stone, Ann Toet,

Rania Yallop, Andrew Yallop, Olga Minion, Daryl Minion, **Apologies** 

Jenny Whittaker, Toni Makkai, Yvonne Robson,

Alan Monahan, Margaret Monahan

Andrew Yallop, Jenny Whittaker, Rania Yallop, Proxies recorded:

Alan Monahan, Margaret Monahan

#### Welcome and introductions

The President opened the Annual General Meeting at 7 pm and acknowledged Traditional Owners of the land on which the meeting is held, including Elders, past, present, and future.

Robert called for apologies, which were recorded. Robert called for proxies, which were recorded.

### 1. Minutes of previous meeting.

1.1 Minutes of Annual General Meeting – 21 September 2022 https://www.hall.act.au/get/7824.pdf

Proposal to accept the minutes of the previous AGM.

Moved – Peter Toet Seconded – Aaron Whittaker Carried unanimously.

# 2. Correspondence

2.1 Nil

#### 3. President's report

#### 3.1 Robert Yallop Annual Report <a href="https://www.hall.act.au/get/7876.pdf">https://www.hall.act.au/get/7876.pdf</a>

Robert noted that his report was uploaded to the VHDPA website.

Two focuses this past year – stormwater infrastructure in Hall village. After 18 months of communications with ACT govt the ACT budget has included funding for detailed design works. The works would be cofunded with Commonwealth disaster preparedness funding. Details not yet shared with the VHDPA, however, we are assured that community will be consulted through detailed design process.

Second key issue is establishing safe cycling and pedestrian access to Hall. Initially advised it was on community priority list but assessed as of lesser priority than some other paths with greater safety needs.

Robert drew attention to the considerable efforts undertaken to improve the Hall Reserve, representing great effort from the community to clear weeds and implement plantings.

Also considerable representation of Hall and District community with both ACT and NSW governments and Yass Council regarding transport, speed, and road conditions. Repairs were undertaken in the Victoria Street pedestrian areas just last week. Also representation about feral animals affecting Wallaroo residents.

Robert referred members to the President's report available on the VHDPA website, for more information. Robert thanked Lee-Ann Brodrick for work on cycle path, Toni Makkai for road safety and feral animals, Aaron Whittaker for work with Danny Clink on improvements to the Reserve.

Robert referred to the tremendous past work of Tony and Margaret Morris in managing community facilities, noting management now undertaken by subcommittee, Jan Klaver, Margaret Monahan, Phil Robson, and Tony and Margaret Morris. Thanks to Bill and Andie Pearson for looking after the Cottage before handing over in May. Thanks to Peter Toet for such effective and efficient liaison with ACT Property Group regarding the School site.

Robert noted Olga Minion is an apology for tonight's meeting as she is travelling with family. Olga has advised that she is not renominating for the Committee. Olga joined the Committee some 5 years ago and has occupied the roles of Secretary and most recently Vice President. In particular, Olga has worked hard on the development of the plan for the Gladstone St playground. Robert recognised Olga's contribution and thanked her for it.

# 4. Treasurer's report.

### 4.1 Tabling of Annual Report and Financial Statements

### https://www.hall.act.au/get/7879.pdf

Phil reported that the Annual Review has been completed. Hard copies available tonight, and also able to be read on the VHDPA website. The review report has been prepared by Michael Sinclair.

Key points are the existence of a profit, vs a loss last year.

Pavilion is key for generation of income to pay bills and subsidise costs of the Hall School site that is home to the Hall Heritage Centre, Hall Men's shed and hosts a number of other community groups.

Key item also the passing of Southwell trust to VHDPA, Hall Heritage Centre.

Phil noted his appreciation of the considerable work done by Michael Sinclair to guide and review our financial operations.

Phil thanked Margaret Foley, Jonathan Palmer, Doug Anstess and Jo Hall for their efforts as well, in maintaining good financial records.

The Treasurer tabled the Annual Financial report and proposed that it be accepted.

Moved – Phil Robson

Seconded - Peter Toet

Carried unanimously

Robert reiterated the VHDPA's thanks for Michael Sinclair's voluntary work to assist the VHDPA.

### 5. Sub-group reports.

5.1 Hall School Museum & Heritage Centre – Alastair Crombie

Alastair Crombie spoke to his annual report: https://www.hall.act.au/get/7878.pdf

5.2 VHDPA Facilities – Cottage and Pavilion – Jan Klaver

Jan Klaver spoke to her annual report: https://www.hall.act.au/get/7887.pdf

5.3 Hall Men's Shed

Doug Anstess spoke to his annual report: <a href="https://www.hall.act.au/get/7826.pdf">https://www.hall.act.au/get/7826.pdf</a>

5.3 Rural Fringe

Jo Hall spoke to her Annual report: https://www.hall.act.au/get/7884.pdf

The VHDPA Committee proposed a vote of thanks to Jo for her editorship and management of the Rural Fringe over the past ten years.

# 6. Election of Office Bearers and Committee

### 6.1 Nominations for:

- President
- Vice President
- Secretary
- Treasurer
- Committee Members (up to 7)

All positions of office bearers and committee members were declared vacant. Nominations were opened when the AGM was advertised and closed at noon last Monday 16 October 2023.

Robert handed over to Phil Robson, Public Officer.

Phil noted he has received and checked nominations and they are valid. He has received ten nominations as follows:

President - Robert Yallop Vice President – Lee-Ann Brodrick Treasurer – Phil Robson Secretary – Jan Klaver

Committee members: Peter Toet, Tony Morris, Ralph Southwell, Toni Makkai, Aaron Whittaker, Margaret Monahan

The Public Officer declared positions duly filled.

### 6.2 Financial Delegations

It was proposed that the following financial delegations be instated: Two signatures required for the cheque account

[President], [Secretary] and [Treasurer] to be authorised signatories with full authority for the following accounts:

Cheque Account BSB 06 2919 Account Number 00925470 Term Deposit BSB 06 2915 Account Number 50035702

- All previous signatories voided
- Two signatures required for the term deposit
- Two signatures required for the cheque account

(Robert Yallop, Jan Klaver, Jenny Whittaker, Phil Robson recorded as operational. Two sigs required.)

Moved – Robert Yallop Seconded- Phil Robson Carried unanimously.

# 6.3 Appointment of Reviewer

Robert pleased to say that Michael Sinclair has agreed to continue to assist the VHDPA.

It was proposed that Michael Sinclair be appointed as independent Reviewer to the VHDPA.

Moved – Robert Yallop Seconded – Phil Robson Carried unanimously.

### 7. General Business

Robert called upon the meeting for any other business.

Two items were raised from the floor for future consideration of the new committee:

- The issue of speed limits on the Barton Highway in the vicinity of the Wallaroo Road and Gladstone St intersections (Judy Roberts)
  Consideration of income tax (Doug Anstess) and potential not-for-profit status of the
- VHDPA (Jo Hall).

